The on-premise license types and definitions are listed below.
- Caterer License - Allows the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on unlicensed premises, which may be open to the public. To view instructions for Electronically Registering your Catered Event click here.
- Class A Club License (bona fide nonprofit social, fraternal or war veterans) - Allows the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises by members and their families and guests accompanying them.
- Class B Club License (private) - Allows the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises by members and guests accompanying them.
- Drinking Establishment License - Allows the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on licensed premise, which may be open to the public.
- Drinking Establishment/Caterer License - Allows the licensee all the rights and privileges of a holder of a drinking establishment license and of a licensed caterer. To view instructions for Electronically Registering your Catered Event click here.
- Hotel/Drinking Establishment License - Any hotel in which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking establishment or as a drinking establishment/caterer may sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage by means of minibars located in guest rooms of such hotels.
- Public Venue License - Allows the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premise of an arena, stadium, hall or theater.
- Temporary Permit - Allows the permit holder to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on unlicensed premises which may be open to the public.
See the Handbook for the various on-premise license types at http://ksrevenue.org/abcstatutes.html
Kansas law allows on-premise licensees to serve the following alcoholic beverages in pitchers no larger than 64 fluid ounces to two (2) or more persons:
- Cereal Malt Beverage
Licensees may request approval for pitchers of mixed alcoholic beverages not listed above to be approved for sale by submitting the completed Request for Approval of Mixed Alcoholic Liquor Served in Pitchers (ABC-866).
If additional pitchers are approved, they will be added to the list above.
Overview of Application Process
When you apply for a new retailer license or renew your existing license, it will be for a two year license term and it must be renewed biannually. You will have the option to either:
- pay the license fee and the registration fee in full or
- pay half of the license fee plus the registration fee with your application and pay the remaining half of the license fee plus a 10 percent surcharge within one year from the date your license was issued. Note: If you do not pay your remaining license fee and the 10 percent surcharge when it is due, your license will automatically be cancelled.
Employees and volunteers cannot:
- be under the age of 18 years to serve alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage;
- be under the age of 21 years to mix or dispense drinks containing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage;
- be under the age of 21 years and not supervised by the licensee or an employee who is at least 21 years of age;
- have been convicted of a felony or of any crime involving a morals charge in Kansas, any other state or the United States, to dispense, mix or serve alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; be a manufacturer, distributor or retailer;
- be an officer, agent or employee of a manufacturer, distributor or retailer in the capacity of a person to mix, serve, sell or dispense alcoholic liquor; or,
- have been convicted within the previous two years of a violation of any Kansas intoxicating liquor laws.
New On-Premise License and Tax Registration Forms
- Business Tax Application Booklet (KS-1216)
- Financial Disclosure (ABC-801)
- Kansas Liquor License Application and Instructions (ABC-800)
- On Premise Public Checklist (ABC-859)
- Request for Permanent Premise Approval (ABC-806)
- TTB Alcohol Dealer Registration (TTB F 5630.5d)
Liquor Drink Tax Bond
The Division of Taxation requires on-premise liquor licensees to post a Liquor Drink tax bond for a minimum of $1,000.00. The bond can be one of the following:
- Cash Bond
- Escrow Bond
- Surety Bond
For additional information regarding Liquor Drink tax or bonds, please contact the Division of Taxation's Miscellaneous Tax Segment at 785-368-8222 (select option 5, then option 4), or email: Miscellaneous.Tax@kdor.ks.gov
On-Premise License Renewal Forms
- ABC Liquor License or Permit Business Name and/or Address Change Form (ABC-22)
- Designation of Agent and/or Process Agent with Power of Attorney (ABC-808)
- Liquor Licensee Information Brochure (ABC-899)
- Notice of Intent to Sell (ABC-811)
- Notice of Officer Change (ABC-810)
- Notice of Ownership Change (ABC-809)
- Request for Public Function (ABC-825)
- Request to Extend License Term (ABC-827)
- Request to Sell Inventory (ABC-812)
- Request to Temporarily Surrender License (ABC-843)
- Request for Permanent Premise Approval (ABC-806)
- Request for Temporary Extension of Premise Approval (ABC-816)
- Request for Temporary Extension of Premise into a Special Event Approval (ABC-817)
If you have questions or need assistance, visit our Contact Us page to locate your assigned Licensing Representative.