Salesman Permits and Delivery Vehicle Registration
Any person(s) working as sales representatives, who work with Kansas liquor licensees and actually solicit or take orders, either in person, over the phone or electronically, for alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage from licensees, are required to obtain a salesperson permit prior to conducting any sales. [K.S.A. 41-333]. The cost of the annual permit is $10. [K.S.A. 41-334(b)]. See the ABC Policy Memorandum 2003-1 Salesperson Permits for additional information.
Persons required to hold a salesperson's permit
- Any employee or agent of a Supplier or Kansas Manufacturer who is located and working in Kansas and solicits sales or takes orders for sales of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage from Kansas distributors or other licensees.
- Any employee or agent of a Kansas distributor working off the distributor's licensed premises who solicits sales or takes orders for sales of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage from Kansas licensees. This includes delivery drivers who actually solicit sales, but not drivers who only deliver product.
- A distributor's employee who solicits orders solely on the distributor's licensed premises is not required to have a salesperson's permit.
- Any employee or agent of a Kansas retailer holding a federal wholesale permit who solicits or takes orders for sales of alcoholic liquor off the retailer's licensed premises.
- Any employee or agent of a farm winery or microbrewery who sells, solicits sales, or takes orders for the sale of domestic wine or domestic beer while off the licensed premises of the farm winery, farm winery outlet, or microbrewery.
Applicants shall not act as salesperson for more than one person, firm or corporation under one permit. [K.S.A. 41-334(a)]. Additional permits may be granted the same applicant for additional principals.
Overview of the Application Process
Submit your executed Salesperson Permit Application and Agreement (ABC-142) to the ABC Marketing Unit as instructed on the form. A photograph is required for new and renewal permits.
If the applicant meets all requirements, the ABC will issue a permit and mail the permit to your employer. Permits are valid for one year.
- The applicant must be at least 21 years of age. [K.S.A. 41-334(a)].
- The applicant shall not have a beneficial interest in any licensed retail liquor store, club, drinking establishment, caterer or temporary permit. [K.S.A. 41-334(c)]
- The applicant must, in good faith, devote a major part of his or her time (be the principal occupation of the person) in selling, or taking or soliciting orders for the sale of alcoholic liquor or CMB for the manufacturer or licensed distributor. [K.S.A. 41-340].
- The Director may refuse to issue a permit to any individual who has been convicted of a felony or of a violation of the Kansas Liquor Control Act or CMB Act. [K.S.A. 41-334(c)]
- The applicant shall not have been convicted "of being a keeper of a house of prostitution or is keeping a house of prostitution” and shall not have been convicted "of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality."
- See the ABC Publication Handbook for Salespersons for additional information.
How to Apply for a New Permit or Renew Your Permit:
Complete and submit the following:
- Salesperson Permit Application and Agreement (ABC-142) (Rev. 10/10)
- $10 Salesperson Permit Fee
- A current photograph must be attached to all applications
When to Notify the ABC (Alcoholic Beverage Control):
A salesperson must notify the Director within five days of any change in employment by a liquor licensee. Failure to surrender the permit within five days shall make the salesperson ineligible for any other permit for a period prescribed by the Director. The licensee has the same obligation. [K.S.A. 41-337].
A salesperson must notify the Director within five days of any change of address from that which was indicated on the new or renewal application for a permit. Failure to notify the Director of a change of address shall make the salesperson’s permit subject to revocation in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act. [K.S.A. 41-338].
A salesperson must notify the Director within five days of termination of employment and must surrender their permit within five days. The licensee has the same obligation. [K.S.A. 41-337].
How to Notify the ABC of Changes:
To notify the Director, the applicant must complete and submit the Salesperson Permit Application and Agreement (ABC-142) (Rev. 10/10).